Liberal Arts and Science Academy

Liberal Arts and Science Academy, abbreviated as LASA, is a selective public magnet high school in Austin, Texas, United States. The school is open to all Austin residents and charges no tuition. The competition for admission is strong and contingent on the submission of an application, prior academic record and the Cognitive Abilities Test.

The Liberal Arts and Science Academy (LASA) is a four-year comprehensive, public, urban, advanced academic magnet high school of approximately 1300 students in the Austin Independent School District (AISD). The program recruits the most academically advanced students from public and private middle schools in Austin; as such, admission to LASA is competitive, based on test scores, previous accomplishments and teacher recommendations.

The LBJ Science Academy, Austin’s first magnet program, was created in 1985. The Liberal Arts Academy at Johnston High School opened in 1987. The two programs were merged in 2002 and became the Liberal Arts and Science Academy (LASA), housed on the Lyndon Baines Johnson High School campus. In 2007, the AISD school board voted to make LASA its own high school. In 2021, LASA will move to what is now Eastside Memorial Early College High School.

LASA educates socially responsible leaders, problem solvers, and thinkers through a nationally recognized, rigorous, innovative, interdisciplinary curriculum.

The Liberal Arts and Science Academy is a Public university located in Austin.
The Liberal Arts and Science Academy was founded in 2007.
The current president of Liberal Arts and Science Academy is Stacia Crescenzi.

Get Instant Information about the University

By clicking “Get Information Now,” I hereby authorize, their dependents, subcontractors, or associates to contact me in regards to education proposals offered by universities in the United States.

Location of Liberal Arts and Science Academy